Matthew Frankel

General Information

Matthew Frankel
Fool Since:
October 13 2012
TMFKWMatt82 (8/14/2015), KWMatt82 (1/28/2014)
Where I Live:
Columbia, SC
Where I Grew Up:
Marlton, NJ

Investing Basics

Investing Experience:
Risk Tolerance:
Medium High
Investing Style:
Motley (i.e. Anything goes!)
Portfolio Size:
Large (12 or more Stocks)
Types of Investments:
stocks, options
Stocks I Own:
PMT, RIG, RF, O, OLED, LINE, COH, CEFL, T, WFM, FDX, EBAY, TOT, CLF, BAC, EOD, OII, GOOG, NNN, TWTR, FSLR, TD, BRK-B, CAT, AXP, AINV, SBY, HHC, QCOM, PYPL, SSTK, W, DLR, HCN, NOV, Long Jan 2017 $20 calls on TWTR, Short Dec 2014 $32 calls on TWTR

Investing Favorites

Any stock that is the right price at the right time
Financials, Materials
Forbes, Money

Investing Expertise

My Area of Expertise:
Retirement Strategies, Options
Greatest Investment:
Google IPO
Worst Investment:
First Solar at $210

Education And Work Information

School(s) Attended
University of South Carolina (B.S.) Nova Southeastern University (M.S.)
Job Title
Financials Specialist
Company / Organization
The Motley Fool
Former Jobs
High school math teacher

TMFMathGuy is following 2 Fools

An Interview with TMFMathGuy

Last updated: 10/14/2014
The Fool:
What industry do you follow most closely and why?
Banking. Not only because it's my job, but it really does represent some of the best values in the market right now.
The Fool:
What's your greatest athletic achievement? Little League champ? Ran a marathon? Did 4 consecutive sit-ups?
I was a wrestler in high school....
The Fool:
How'd you find out about the Fool? (Make your answer as colorful and truthful as possible.)
When I was about 15 years old, my grandfather had a book by David and Tom Gardner on his shelf. I started reading it and was hooked instantly.
[Read the full Interview]

My Story

I grew up in a small New Jersey suburb and left to go to school in South Carolina where I got a physics degree. After college I moved to the sunny Florida Keys where I stayed and taught high school math and science for 5 years. Recently, my wife and I moved back to South Carolina where I am now a full-time writer and I'm loving every minute of it.